Last Updated: 2021-05-15
I was working in the
development branch and made 3 commits. I then merged into
master had the same parent commit as
development, git used
a ff (fast forward) commit, meaning that the fact that these were originally in
development branch was no longer shown in the git history. This is a bit
confusing and can be disabled.
git config branch.master.mergeoptions "--no-ff"
--no-ff when you want to preserve the fact of the merge having occurred
(at the expense of adding a commit to your history)